"Dreams feel real while we're in them. It's only when we wake up that we realize something was actually strange." -Inception

Thursday, January 30, 2014

And the Directors Guild of America Award goes to...

Everyone is calling this year's race for the Oscars as one of the closest ever.  The Golden Globes went to 12 Years a Slave and American Hustle for drama and comedy respectively, the SAG ensemble was claimed by the cast of American Hustle and for the first time ever, the Producers Guild of America had a historic tie as 12 Years a Slave and Gravity both were anointed as the best films of the year.

(Photo: Reuters)

And Gravity, building on the momentum of its best picture win at the PGAs, also added yet another honor to its mantle earlier this week as director Alfonso Cuaron was named best feature film by last winner's Ben Affleck (Argo).  And in the documentary feature category, director Jehane Noujaim won for The Square. Momentum is swinging all over the place.  With the Writers Guild of America and the BAFTAs remaining as the major awards, which film will emerge as the frontrunner for the Oscars?  Right now, it's anyone's game.

Below are the film award winners for the DGAs:

Feature Film:
Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity”

Jehane Noujaim, “The Square”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...